#### School District of Rhinelander - Board of Education

# Employee Relations Committee Monday, May 20, 2024

#### **Minutes**

The meeting of the Employee Relations Committee was called to order at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, May 20, 2024, in the Superior Diesel Advanced Learning Center – Rhinelander High School, 665 Coolidge Avenue, Rhinelander, WI.

Committee Chair Duane Frey led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Committee Members Present: Judy Conlin, Duane Frey, and Merlin Van Buren

Committee Members Absent: None

Others present at this meeting were: Superintendent, Eric Burke; School Board President, Ron Counter; Director of Learning Support, Richard Gretzinger; Director of Business Services, Robert Thom; Director of Human Resources, Michele Cornelius; Secretary/Deputy Clerk, Shelley Anderson, and Heather Schaefer of the Northwoods River News. Seven other people were also present.

# Comments/Report by the Chairperson

• No comments/reports were given.

# Comments/Report by the Superintendent/Administration

• Superintendent Eric Burke commented on the successful scholarship night.

# Citizens/Delegations

• David Holperin addressed the Committee concerning non-discrimination wording in the handbooks.

Report, Discussion, and/or Action Topics

## April 8, 2024, Committee Meeting Minutes

MOTION: J. Conlin, seconded by M. Van Buren.

Accept the minutes of the April 8, 2024, committee meeting as printed.

Motion passed with voice vote.

## Consider Staff Handbook Revisions

MOTION: M. Van Buren, seconded by J. Conlin.

Recommend Board approval of the revisions to the Support Staff Handbook as proposed and with suggested revisions to clarify terminology and language.

Motion passed with voice vote.

## **MOTION**: J. Conlin, seconded by M. Van Buren.

Recommend Board approval of the revisions to the Professional Employee Handbook as proposed and with suggested revisions to clarify terminology and language. Motion passed with voice vote.

# Adjournment

MOTION: M. Van Buren, seconded by J. Conlin. Move to adjourn.

Motion passed with a voice vote at 5:52 p.m.